Be converted…Be healed

I’m often thinking about the concept of Christ healing us.  For example, when Jesus Christ comes to the Nephites, before he has even appeared, they hear, “O all ye that are spared because ye were more righteous than they, will ye not now return unto me, and repent of your sins, and be converted, that I may heal you?’ (3 Nephi 9:13).  The plea is so tender – for us to be converted and, subsequently, healed.

Today, I came across the following verse while studying:  “For this people’s heart is waxed gross, and their ears are dull of hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they should see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and should understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should heal them.”  (Matthew 13:15).  In this verse, Christ is talking about the Jews – those to whom the gospel had been given.  Those to whom Christ had been sent.  Yet because of the condition of their spiritual hearts, ears, and eyes, they didn’t recognize their own God; they were not converted; and they could not be healed.

Now, what does this mean for me – for US?  Christ explains – we can choose to see, to hear, and to understand.  This leads to our conversion – our willingness to put our wills on the altar of the Lord, and as we do so, the Lord extends His grace that heals us from our ultimate weakness – Spiritual death. 

I also love this idea because I consider myself to be somewhat of an artist.  I love to write, paint, and be creative, in general.  When my heart is open to concepts, when my eyes are open to the world around me, and when I’m really listening to everything – then I’m able to receive the inspiration I need in order to create. I feel that this is exactly how our spirits work, too.  When we become open, we enable the Lord to create something beautiful within us. 

If we let Him, He will heal and perfect.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • "But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her." - Luke 10:42.
  • Mo

    I'm a Mormon.
  • Find Out More

  • New Testament Study Companion – Free eBooks



  • Check out my Free Scripture Study Book

  • That Good Part on Facebook

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Follow on Bloglovin
  • Subscribe

  • Study the Atonement

  • Homey and Me (HaM) – A Love Story

  • Favorites

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Photobucket blogosphere logo MMB
  • Listen to Mormon Radio

    mormon-channel-sash-icon for mormon channel
