FHE – Be Clean

On Monday night, Panda taught us a lesson on “being clean.” First we watched this video.

We talked about personal “cleanliness” – through repentance. We only touched on this for a second because Panda was more interested in physical, tangible cleanliness – as in having a clean house.

We then had a fun little object lesson. Luckily, our living room was messy. This was perfect for Panda’s lesson.

We went to the living room, and talked about how a cluttery-messy living room makes us feel. I tried to take pictures, but I think that I broke my camera in San Diego.

Some of the feelings we had included:

  • Confusion
  • Discomfort
  • Apathy
  • Grouchines
  • Fear (of stepping on a lego – which is a real fear!)

After this discussion, Panda turned the timer on – set for 10 minutes. We all worked together to clean the living room. We got it done with time to spare, so we also cleaned the hallway, bathroom, and Sasquatch’s/T-Rex’s room. We spruced up the entry way and also took out the trash.

After ten minutes were up, we congregated in the Living room again, this time all of us were refreshed: it was clean. The difference could be noticed – even in T-Rex, who is only a year old!

Some of the things we noticed with the clean room:

  • We were no longer afraid to walk in the room (no threatening legos lingering about!)
  • The T-Rex loved the clean room. He kept running from one end of the throw-rug to the other. He would even do a little jump and then fall, singing “We all fall down!”
  • I had a clearer mind. I wasn’t feeling overwhelmed or stressed.
  • I also didn’t feel guilty. I don’t know if it is because I’m a mom, but I always feel guilty when the house is a mess. I apologize for it profusely. I don’t like the way a messy house feels, and I don’t like subjecting my family to it, either.
  • We were amazed at how quickly the cleaning went when we worked together. Ten minutes was a short time to spare for such a nice reward!

Panda reminded us that our homes are like temples. I’m glad that she’s learning this. It is true. Often, I think of the tabernacle from the days of ancient Israel – and what it was to the people:

” And the Lord will create upon every dwelling place of mount Zion, and upon her assemblies, a cloud and smoke by day, and the shining of a flaming fire by night: for upon all the glory shall be a defence.

And there shall be a tabernacle for a shadow in the daytime from the heat, and for a place of refuge, and for a covert from storm and from rain.” – Isaiah 4:5-6

The Lord created for Zion a temple. It was the dwelling place of the Lord. He guided them with smoke by day and a fire by night. He also provided shade during the heat, and refuge during the storm.

This is exactly what I want my home to be. It needs to be full of God’s spirit. It needs to be a visible guide to all of us during the day, and a beacon of light at night. My children, my husband, even I need to know that in the home the Spirit resides, and we will be blessed and directed by His spirit.

I also want my home to be a comfortable place during the heat of day. This resonates with me in the hot desert. Shade provides so much relief. Our homes should provide relief from the relentless “sun” and also it should be a safe place during life’s storms. In these ways, our homes truly can be temples.

Of course, we learned, that it is impossible for our home to be temple-like when it is not clean. When we all work together, we can keep the house clean and orderly, and then our homes will have the peaceful, happy, and uplifting qualities of the temple.

It was a nice FHE – with the added bonus of a clean house at the end. What did you do? Find out another great FHE experience on Jocelyn’s Blog

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

