Studying the Scriptures – Tips for Effective Study

Well, this is unusual for me, I’m not much of an advertiser on this blog, but I wanted to get the word out. You may have noticed on my sidebar – I’ve written a book.

Obviously, this is a book about studying the scriptures.

Christ and His Mother Studying the Scriptures, Henry Ossawa Tanner

A couple of years ago, while serving in the Young Women’s, I was working on my Personal Progress. It was time for me to begin working on the value projects, and I pondered what I should do. The idea came to me: write a book on scripture study.

I’ve always loved studying the scriptures. I’ve given several classes on how to get more from scripture study. As I thought about this value project, I realized I should compile some of the information from the classes I taught and create a book.

Well, the work is done, and now I’ve got a book. If you are interested in it, you can download it for free.

I wrote the Book in the following parts:
1) Materials
In this part, you will learn more about materials you may wish to have when studying the scriptures and their advantages and disadvantages.

2) Marking the Scriptures
This section is all about marking your scriptures. You will learn marking techniques, color coding, and there is also a “quiz” that will help you to formulate your own scripture marking plan. I don’t give you a plan in this book. As helpful as that may be, I really think that you can come up with one for yourself – that would be more practical and personal. This section teaches you how to come up with your own plan.

3) Elements in the scriptures
In this section, you will learn about various literary elements in the scriptures: such as lists, metaphors, patterns, etc. These chapters are interactive – so you can learn how to identify each element in the scriptures on your own.

There are also chapters about creating cross-references and scripture chains.

4) Projects
This section is full of fun scripture-study project ideas. If you have read the scriptures more than once, and you want a project to help you keep your focus as you continue to read the scriptures, then this section will help you. The projects include a Book of Mormon Extreme Challenge, Scripture Spider-web, and others. These are just starting points, so that you can go to the scriptures on your own and complete the project yourself.

So…that’s the basic idea of the book. If you are interested, download it here. I want to share what I’ve learned in scripture study, so that is why I’ve put it together and am offering it. If you are looking for ways to learn more about scripture study, then I hope this can help you.

I have a testimony in the power of scripture study. I have been blessed with the interest and ability to read the scriptures and have spiritual experiences daily. I know that the Lord speaks to us through His Word. I know that as we study the scriptures, the Spirit can infuse our lives. Through such divine instruction, we can improve ourselves and become happier people.

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Emily

     /  April 23, 2012

    Yay!! I am so glad you did this. (And I feel horrible that I promised help and never delivered…it was a crazy rough time for me but that’s no excuse.) I’m reading this on my phone but will be downloading it pronto! Scripture study is an area I’ve always struggled with so I am so excited to read your final version and hopefully catch the same enthusiasm you’ve got about the scriptures and study them more consistenly and deeply. Thank you for writing this!!

    Reply
    • You’re welcome … I hope that it helps you out! I’ve been sitting on it for a while, and finally decided to put it out there. I hope that people are able to find the inspiration they need for scripture study. :)

      Reply
  2. Loved how you showed examples of different marking techniques
    Liked the idea of creating scripture chains with index cards (I’ve only done it in Word docs because it feels like it goes faster, but the index card idea is good.)

    I felt you needed more explanation about the importance of “search,” “analyze” and “application” questions.
    However, you did a very good job of asking lots of questions and labeling them “search” or “analyze” or “application.”

    For your projects section, an additional idea would be studying a topic that has to do with a personal weakness. In this way, weaknesses can become strengths. By studying a weakness and the scriptural consequences, and then by studying the strength and the blessings from it, a person can grow in areas they especially need it.

    I loved your ideas for scripture study with patriarchal blessing, getting the broad view by reading quickly, and then focusing on just a verse.

    Loved the ideas for the scripture study challenges. Also, your love for the scriptures and your sense of the great possibilities for study really shone through. In your epilogue, you said you hesitated to share more information and insight based on your own experiences. I hope you will at least share those experiences on your blog. Inquiring minds want to know!

    Nice job!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the insight. I’m going to try to update the book with these suggestions. It is good to get other people’s opinions – especially about the questions. I think that they are SO IMPORTANT. When we learn how to go to the scriptures with ???s, then we will get more out of them.

      I also love the idea on a weakness/strength project. I’m always looking for new ways to study the scriptures.

      It was a temptation – to share more experiences, and I know that it can be helpful, but I’m hoping that through the exercises, people will have some experiences of their own. Anyways. Thanks for your feedback. :)

      Reply
  3. Susan

     /  May 15, 2012

    Can’t download to iPad.

    Reply
    • I don’t have an ipad, and I don’t really know what to say. It is just a pdf, so I thought it would work…

      Reply
  4. Just downloaded the 70-pager. That’s awesome that you poured so much time and effort into making it. Scripture study is a secret of sorts – those who figure out how to tap into its power have such enhanced lives.

    Reply
  5. Just downloaded your scripture study pdf; looking forward to taking a deeper look at it. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  6. Marsha Nuttall

     /  July 30, 2012

    This is amazing! I am getting ready to teach a class on scripture study and thankfully found your book. I would have been happy to pay for it and I am so grateful that I will be able to share your hard work with the sisters in my ward. Thank you so much!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Marsha. Please let me know how the class goes, and if you find the book helpful/easy to understand. Good luck with your class! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 190 other followers

