My Testimony of Jesus Christ

I know that Jesus Christ is my personal Savior. I have felt this in my life – as the power of His atonement has brought me forgiveness, healing, and comfort.

christ

First of all, I have felt the power of the atonement when I have had to overcome my own sins. As I’ve come to the Savior in the midst of my weakness, I have found that I feel the peace of redemption, and I am also inspired with methods to correct my behavior. When I’ve actually followed this inspiration, I have been able to feel the miracle of the Lord’s forgiveness in my life. I know that the atonement makes it possible for me to kneel before my Heavenly Father and pray for gratitude, support, blessings, and repentance. I know that Heavenly Father is grateful for my willingness to do so, and that both Heavenly Father and I are grateful that Jesus Christ’s atonement has made this possible.

I also know that the Atonement of Jesus Christ has healed me from the pains and adversities we must suffer during mortality – even if they are not “our fault”. One of the most difficult things I’ve endured has been my divorce. I never could have imagined this situation for myself. When I was first separated and going through the divorce, I was often riddled with feelings of sadness and the temptation to be overly discouraged. However, as I turned to the Lord and worked hard to make the situation better for my girls and I, I saw the Lord work a miracle in me. I knew that He was healing me through the Atonement. Although this time in my life was difficult, I felt grateful to experience the atonement in this way. I know that my healing – spiritually, physically, and mentally – has been a miracle. And I know that this healing was only possible through the Savior.

I also know that the Atonement of Jesus Christ offers us comfort through our physical trials. Recently, I have had a small physical trial of sorts – it came in the first year of my marriage to Homey.* I was suffering with a good deal of lower abdominal pain. Homey had felt inspired to give me a blessing. This was followed by more blessings and months of tests. Throughout this time, I was reminded that I could look to the Savior, and remember that he has suffered every pain when He performed the Atonement. I admit that the pain I felt during this time was not as difficult as I was expecting after these blessings; however, I feel that this advice that I received from the Lord may come in handy later – as I’m sure that I will face situations that my be very physically painful. While I was going through this experience, it was very helpful and comforting to know that I could pray to Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Christ, and that he would comfort me. I knew that Christ has already suffered this pain, and, although I wasn’t going to be completely relieved of it, I could find comfort in the knowledge that he understands. I could also trust in the Lord, that He would know how to comfort me.

I am so grateful to know that Jesus Chris is my Savior. As my testimony in Him has grown, my Love for Him, for Heavenly Father, for myself, for my family, and for my fellow brothers and sisters have grown. I feel like singing when I think of the Love I feel for the Savior. I know that he pleads my cause, I know that he loves me, I know that he rushes to comfort and support me. I know that it is because of Him I am able to receive blessings from Heavenly Father – including the potential blessing of Eternal life.

I have not always been righteous or perfect. In fact, I’ve made many mistakes. However, I know that the Lord fills in my gaps, helps my unbelief, and heals me. I know that Christ Lives. I know that everything He has done was so that Heavenly Father’s work and glory could be fulfilled. I know that Christ bridges the gap that exists between Heavenly Father and all of mankind. I am so grateful for this knowledge, and I hope to always grow in my testimony of the Savior. I love Him.

***
Do you have a testimony of Jesus Christ? Please, share it. :)

Click here if you are interested in learning more about the Savior.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is really a beautiful essay. Thank you for it.

    Reply
  1. Strengthening our Relationships with Christ | That Good Part

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 184 other followers

